love the sojourner.

Confession: I don’t honestly feel like I know a ton about politics. And I pretty much avoid any Facebook status that even remotely ventures into a political, potentially hostile realm. But I have been realizing more and more than I might not know much about politics, but I need to care about them.

Because I think politics are exactly what impact the people I care about. And they are what impact the people the Lord cares about.

I’ve written before about refugees. You can read those thoughts here, if you’re interested:

You are seen.

Feeling small in the midst of overwhelming hurt.

His story, not mine.

As I’ve been working my way through the Old Testament this winter, I see the Lord frequently asking his people to care for the sojourner. This verse jumped out at me yesterday. 

Love the sojourner, therefore, for you were sojourners in the land of Egypt. (Deuteronomy 10:19)

I can’t think of someone who better fits that description right now than refugees. The Lord doesn’t seem to single out too many people groups that we’re supposed to care about, but he gives a lot of attention to the few he does: the poor, the orphan, the widow and the sojourner. Honestly, I think the refugees probably fit into all of those categories. Friends, if we claim to follow Jesus, I don’t think we have a choice not to care about the people that Jesus cares so much about.

Tomorrow, January 20, an important act, The American SAFE Act (Security Against Foreign Enemies) is being voted on in the Senate. My understanding is that it would stop refugees from Syria and Iraq from resettling in the United States. My heart aches to think of our country withholding care from those who need it, with fear holding us captive.

Friends, I’d encourage you to write a letter to your senator. Here’s an link from We Welcome Refugees, with a letter already written for you, ready to email to your senator. Seriously, it is as easy as writing your name.

I want to care about the people the Lord cares about. I honestly often feel at a loss of how to do that, and sometimes afraid of what it might cost me. But, today, I signed my name on a letter, asking for our country to be willing to care for the people the Lord cares about. I want to love the sojourner. 

Leave a Reply

