the invitation to celebrate

Sometimes I talk myself out of fun or celebration because of the work it will add. I think of the extra cleaning or dishes or needed supplies and wonder if it will be worth the effort. And sometimes that is worth listening to. My exhaustion rises to the surface and I need gentleness in the form of simple.

But other times, I’m not able to picture the joy it will bring to savor or to celebrate. I see celebration almost as a frivolous effort. I fail to see it as something that will bring me life, something that will ground me in the present moment.

I’m trying to notice invitations to celebrate and savor. I’m listening for the places where I believe joy is a “less serious” way of encountering the Lord.

Where can I slow down and be present? Where can I open my hands to receive the gifts of this moment? What gifts does he have for me today?

A recent invitation came through a stack of magazines and scissors and glue. I wanted to do something to signify what I’d been learning about celebration and joy through reading Nicole Zasowski’s book, What If It’s Wonderful? this summer.

And making a collage of celebration seemed like the perfect way to do it. It had no purpose other than to be beautiful and joyful. It went straight into the pages of my journal, as a private momentum for the Lord and I. And I feel so grateful for the way hunting for these images helped me linger with the gifts of this season.

I’m grateful for the ways I’m learning the truth in what Nicole says:

“Celebration is able to hold the reality of pain and joy at the same time.”

“Savoring is subtle but significant celebration.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.