what I’ve been reading: the BEST of winter 2019

Here’s some of my favorite books from the past two months. In other words, these are all books I gave at least an A- to.

You can find more of what I’ve been reading, and all the books that didn’t make this favorites list over here.

What have you been reading this winter? Tell me if you had a favorite in the comments!

When I Pray for You

View this post on Instagram

I have often had moments where I'm simply in awe of the wonderful child who has been given to me. I look around for someone to share the moment with, someone's eyes to catch with mine, to agree that this moment is worth marveling in. But often, I'm alone in my house or surrounded by strangers too distracted by their own children to notice mine. And in those moments, I try to pause and pray, inviting the Lord into that moment as I soak it up. I thank him for the gift it is to have a front row seat to my children's becoming. I feel the warmth of his pleasure as we celebrate the radiance of this child he's given me, as they sing passionately or twirl in the kitchen or offer kindness to a friend. When I Pray For You has quickly earned a place in my mama's heart. This sweet book gives words to the quiet observations of a parent, celebrating the many moments and emotions of their child, throughout the years. From prayers for launching them into the world, strength and fierce courage, playful pretending, growing pains and more, this book feels like a gift to parent and child alike. I loved reading it to my four year old and almost two year old. They loved the illustrations, especially the dog on most of the pages. I loved the lyrical truth that reflected my heart for my kids, that has inspired more intentional prayers for them. "As I watched you pretend, all alone or with friends, I prayed over you again and again. 'Cause when I pray for you, God knows this is true, every word I whisper is a prayer for me too." A for me. #partner Thanks to @waterbrookmultnomah for the review copy of this beautiful book.

A post shared by Alison L Bradley (@alisonlbradley) on

Of Fire and Lions

The Common Rule

Whispers and Wildflowers

The Secret of Paper and Ink

View this post on Instagram

It had been a rough morning for my heart. I sat down with this one and a mug of tea in the afternoon…and may have sat there until I finished. 🙈#speedreadingsuperpower This is the story of three women, two modern and one many years earlier, but they are each finding the courage to tell their story. I loved what this book said about truth-telling, especially as part of the healing process. One of the characters is a counselor and feels utterly ashamed for having fallen prey to manipulation and abuse. I love the permission her fictional story offers for being human. Head knowledge doesn’t translate to being able to skip heartache or to being able to prevent pain. This story didn’t surprise me too much, but I didn’t mind the parts I had predicted. I loved the character of Emily and the glimpse of her world 150 years ago. And any book that makes my mouth water with its food descriptions is okay with me! While this one would be probably be considered Christian fiction, so much of the growth and healing was shown instead of spoken, which I loved. The only thing that didn’t feel totally relatable was Sophia’s months of paid time off and her hefty bank account. This wasn’t a huge distraction for me, but I kept thinking about what her grief process would have been like if she hadn’t had the wealth & privilege that she did. A- for me. #partner thanks to @thomasnelson for the review copy of this one! It was a joy to read. #idratherbereading #bookreviewswithalison

A post shared by Alison L Bradley (@alisonlbradley) on

Harry’s Trees

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden

Indestructible

View this post on Instagram

“It takes a long time for change to sink all the way into our bodies. It takes years for change to become cellular, second nature. I have to remind myself of this— that I’m allowed to have my process, that I don’t have to have it figured out all right this minute, that this is the whole point. Showing up. Being in my life with my whole heart.” (129) Ally Fallon writes about her failed marriage and what it was like to fight to be herself again. As someone who knows what it feels like to be gaslighted and emotionally abused, Ally does as phenomenal job at showing how confusing that feels, especially with someone you should be able to trust, and the courage it takes to walk away. I loved how she only told her own story, and didn’t share details that would have held shock value but weren’t only hers. I read this one in a day. It is a gritty, messy, redemptive story. I loved how she didn’t try to make herself look good, but lived her bravery even in how she told the truth in her own story. My only hesitation in recommending this book wholeheartedly is that the “be your own hero” mantra felt a little too loud for me. I’m all for taking responsibility for your own life and believe that only you can do your own soul work. But I also believe Jesus is the only one who can do certain kinds of healing. That there is some brokenness only he can mend. And I felt like I saw Jesus all over Ally’s story. He was in the forgiveness she was offered by a friend she wounded. He was in the kindness of strangers. He was in the timing of certain events. He was in yoga and her showing up to be vulnerable. He just wasn’t mentioned much. A- for me. Ps. My local library bought this book, this very copy because I asked them too! If you didn’t know about this option, consider this a friendly PSA. If your library doesn’t have a book you want, you can ask! Thanks @bucksctylib for buying this one.📚 #idratherbereading #bookreviewswithalison

A post shared by Alison L Bradley (@alisonlbradley) on

The Map of Salt and Stars

The Library at the Edge of the World

True You

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.